Santa Clara University

University Governance

Faculty Judicial Board


The Faculty Judicial Board shall conduct a formal hearing upon request of the Grievance Committee; request of a faculty member who alleges violation of academic freedom in denial of tenure, promotion, or reappointment; in cases of sanctions for misconduct, dismissal for cause, alleged misconduct in research, termination based on financial exigency or change in educational program; request of a faculty member appealing from a decision rendered pursuant to the Policy on Unlawful Harassment and Unlawful Discrimination; request of a faculty member claiming unlawful discrimination in the denial of tenure or promotion; request of the Provost.
Faculty Handbook


  • Arts and Humanities: Catherine Murphy, Religious Studies 2016; Nancy Unger, History 2018
  • Natural Sciences and Social Sciences: Tracey Kahan, Psychology 2016; Gregory Corning, Political Science 2018
  • Business: Gregory Baker 2016 and James Hall 2016, Organizational Analysis and Management
  • Engineering: Drazen Fabris, Mechanical Engineering 2016; Rachel He, Civil Engineering 2018
  • Law: Ellen Kreitzberg 2016; David Yosifon 2018
  • School of Education and Counseling Psychology: Pedro Hernandez-Ramos 2016
  • Jesuit School of Theology: Lisa Fullam 2018

The faculty of the Schools of Business, Engineering, and Law shall each elect to the Faculty Judicial Board two representatives from among their tenured members. The College of Arts & Sciences shall elect four representatives: two from the departments offering the Bachelor of Arts degree and two from the departments offering the Bachelor of Science degree. The term of office is three calendar years and shall be staggered to ensure continuity. No member shall serve two consecutive terms, except that a member hearing a pending matter shall continue to hear and participate in the resolution of that grievance.


Minutes are not available.
Printer-friendly format