Santa Clara University

University Governance


Much of the University business is conducted through the work of four kinds of committees: (1) University governance committees, (2) Faculty Senate committees, (3) committees mandated by civil law, and (4) temporary ad hoc task forces.

The University Coordinating Committee (UCC) is the meta committee that makes governance more efficient, effective, and responsive. Its duties are (1) to coordinate the work of the University Policy Committees (UPCs), (2) to appoint to each UPC members who are competent to perform the work of that committee, and (3) to guarantee appropriate consultation and efficiency in the overall process of University governance.

University Policy Committees (the six major, permanent committees that are integral to effective and sustaining governance at SCU)

University Coordinating Committee

  • Ruth Davis, Computer Engineering, 2014-16, Chair 
  • Margalynne Armstrong, School of Law, 2015-17
  • Dennis Jacobs, Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs
  • Robert Numan, Psychology, Faculty Senate President, 2015-16
  • Jenny Sullivan, Alumni Relations, Staff Senate President, 2015-16

Other Committees

Past Committees

Printer-friendly format