Santa Clara University

Office of the President

President's Updates


Back to Blog

Class of 2012 Award Recipients

Friday, Jun. 8, 2012
Class of 2012 Award Recipients

Dear Faculty, Staff, and Students,

In the week before commencement, I want to take a moment to announce publicly the members of the Class of 2012 selected to receive University awards. It is my pleasure to congratulate the following students for their contributions to the betterment of our community.

The valedictorian is conferred annually on a graduating senior selected for outstanding academic achievement and University service.  This year’s valedictorian is Nathan Rogers, a civil engineering major, who will offer the valedictory address at the Undergraduate Commencement on June 16.

The St. Clare and Nobili medals are presented to the female and male graduates judged outstanding in academic performance, personal character, school activities, and constructive contribution to the University. At the commencement exercises next week, the St. Clare Medal will be awarded to Tanya Schmidt and the Nobili Medal to Drew Hodun.

The Peter-Hans Kolvenbach, S.J. Award is awarded to graduating seniors who exemplify the ideals of Jesuit education especially being a "whole person of solidarity in the real world" and having the courage and faith to build a more just and humane world. For 2012, the Kolvenbach Award will be presented to Jose Dorador at commencement.

At the Toast to the Class of 2012 held on June 8, Jahayra Molina, Natali Rodriguez, and Zena Andreani each received the Richard J. Riordan Award in recognition of their outstanding contributions to service through their work with the marginalized and under-served populations outside of the University community.

Jennifer Dyckman, Todd Lane, Courtney Seymour, Kurt Wagner, and Christopher Wemp received Student Life Awards to recognize their contributions to improving the overall quality of life in the University community.

Gracelyn Bateman received the Student Inclusive Excellence Award for her commitment to enhancing an inclusive environment on campus

Kurt Wagner was awarded the Handlery Prize for contributions to the success of a student publication during his time at the University.

This year’s recipient of the 2012 Alumni Association Board of Director’s Service Award is Cynthia Martinez.

Please join me in congratulating and thanking these outstanding members of the Class of 2012.

Michael E. Engh, S.J.

Printer-friendly format