Santa Clara University

summer-web

Software Tips & Tricks

Back to Blog

Deleting GroupWise messages on an iPhone

If you use an iPhone to access your GroupWise email (IMAP), you may have noticed when you log in through the PC or Mac client, your deleted messages stay in your mailbox, but have a line or strikethrough.

When you delete a message through your iPhone, it does not get erased immediately on the server. It does get flagged for deletion, though, which is why you see the strikethrough. The default settings erase messages after one week.

To change your deletion settings on your iPhone:

  1. Go to Settings » Mail, Contacts, Calendars » Accounts »YourAccount » Advanced » Mailbox Behaviors, Deleted Mailbox.
  2. The default setting is "Deleted Messages"; try changing it to the "Trash" folder.
  3. Also on the "Advanced" page is a "Deleted Messages" section. Here you can change the default from "after one week" to "after one day".

Visit the discussion on the Novell forum to learn more.

Comments Comments

Post a Comment

Tags: GroupWise and email, Smart Phones

Printer-friendly format