Santa Clara University

Office of the President

President's Updates

  •  Monday, Jul. 6, 2015

    I wish to acknowledge several staff who were recognized at the 28th Annual Staff Recognition Event on June 16. The annual event is an opportunity to acknowledge the special contributions and dedication of the staff to their divisions and to the University. 

    This year, the Inclusive Excellence Award, renamed in honor of Professor Emeritus Francisco Jimenez, was given to:

    • Sandra Hayes, Undergraduate Admission

    The following staff received division awards for their respective divisions:

    • Butch Coyne, SCU Presents
    • Charity Garcia, Undergraduate Admission
    • Phil Livak, Campus Safety Services
    • Yolanda Murry, Human Resources
    • Mike Nuttall, Ignatian Center for Jesuit Education
    • Team Award: Jeffrey Baerwald, S.J., Lester Deanes, Matthew Duncan, Kim Gilkey-Wall, Ngoc Nguyen-Mains,  and Nora Jamison-Danko from Office of Student Life
    • Team Award: Jay Colombatto, Patricia Salazar, and Christi Shaw from University Relations

     Congratulations to all!



  •  Friday, Jun. 12, 2015

    What's Ahead on My Calendar:

    • June 22-24 - California Province  Congregation
    • June 25-26 - President's Cabinet Leadership Retreat
    • June 28-July 5 - Retreat
    • July 3 - Independence Day Administrative Holiday
    • July 9, 12, 16, 20, 23 - Orientation Welcome
    • July 31 - Feast of St. Ignatius Mass and Picnic Lunch


  •  Friday, Jun. 12, 2015

    Outcomes of the Board of Trustees Meeting, June 5, 2015


    Last week the Board of Trustees convened for their Spring meeting, at which Bob Finocchio concluded his term as chair and Paul Gentzkow was elected as the new board chair. I am pleased that Bob will continue to serve as a member of the board, and I look forward to working with Paul in his new leadership role.

    During the meeting, the Board approved a series of proposals recommended by the trustee Academic Affairs Committee. The board voted to approve:

    • revisions to the Faculty Handbook that would make Emeritus or Emerita status available to Senior Lecturers (Section; would extend the privileges of Professor Emeritus to all Emeriti faculty (Section; and would update the list of privileges to retired and Emeritus faculty (Section;
    • a revision to the Faculty Handbook to clarify extensions of the probationary period (Section;
    • the creation of a new undergraduate major, a Bachelor of Science in Commerce in Individual Studies, to be offered by the Leavey School of Business; and
    • the creation of a Master of Science degree in Supply Chain Management to be offered by the Leavey School of Business.

    In addition to the election of Paul Gentzkow as the new board chair, the Governance and Nominating Committee recommended and the full board approved several actions including:

    • Election of Officers: Peggy Bradshaw (Vice Chair), Larry Sonsini (Secretary), Molly McDonald (Assistant Secretary), John Ottoboni (Assistant Secretary), Jack Lewis (Treasurer), Michael Hindery (Assistant Treasurer), Harry Fong (Assistant Treasurer); and
    • Reelection of Trustees whose terms were expiring: Kristi Markkula Bowers, Howard Charney, Gerald Cobb, S.J., Robert Finocchio, Rebecca Guerra, Ellen Hancock, Richard Justice, Timothy Lannon, S.J., William Leahy, S.J., Jack Lewis, Jeff Miller, Edward Panelli, Elizabeth Rafael, Stephen Schott, Larry Sonsini, Mary Stevens, William Terry, Charmaine Warmenhoven.

    As part of the discussion items of the meeting, the board received updates on the comprehensive campaign, the emeriti trustees program, facilities master planning, and the Miller Center for Social Entrepreneurship. In other business, Kirk Syme provided a report from the Board of Regents and summarized their STEM discussion from their last meeting. Faculty Senate President James Lai and President-Elect Robert Numan briefed the board on activities of the FSC during the past year and articulated issues to be addressed in the coming year. James thanked the board and University leadership for their engagement. Student body president Anaisy Tolentino and incoming president Aaron Poor reported on student life matters. Following the meeting, the Faculty Senate Council joined the board for lunch.

  •  Monday, Apr. 27, 2015

    What's Ahead on My Calendar:

    • April 30 - MAGIS Event
    • May 1 - JST Board of Directors Meeting
    • May 5 - President's Speaker Series with Madeleine Albright
    • May 7 - Board of Fellows Meeting
    • May 8 - Graduate Theological Union Board Meeting
    • May 13 - Spring Quarter Lunch with Staff
    • May 14 - Senior Design Presentations
    • May 15 - Board of Regents Meeting
    • May 15 - Law School Baccalaureate Mass
    • May 16 - Law School Commencement
    • May 16 - Red and White Dinner
    • May 20 - Spring Quarter Lunch with Faculty
    • May 23 - JST Commencement
    • May 25 - Memorial Day
    • May 28 - Spring Quarter Lunch with Staff


  •  Tuesday, Mar. 17, 2015

    What's Ahead on My Calendar:

    • March 19 - Founder's Day/Mass
    • March 24 - Katharine and George Alexander Law Prize Event
    • March 25 - Lenten Mass at Palma High School
    • March 26 - L.A. President's Club Dinner
    • March 31 - Student Ambassadors Training
    • April 3 - Good Friday
    • April 5 - Easter
    • April 7 - College Showcase
    • April 11-12 - Preview Days
    • April 12 - Global Village Celebration
    • April 12 - Ignatian Center Golf Tournament
    • April 13 - Dean's Leadership Forum with Sr. Helen Prejean
    • April 14 - Dean's Leadership Forum with Martin Sheen
    • April 15 - University Honors Dinner with Students
Printer-friendly format