Santa Clara University

Office of the President

President's Updates

  •  Tuesday, Jul. 22, 2014

    Convocation for the 2014-2015 academic year will be held on Tuesday, September 16, at 4:00 p.m. in the Mission Church. This is our first community event ushering in the new academic year before our students arrive on campus. I invite all faculty and staff to attend the annual program which gives me the opportunity to welcome new members to the University community, acknowledge achievements, and highlight past progress and future plans for the upcoming year.


  •  Thursday, Jul. 17, 2014

    On Thursday, July 31, the University community will gather to celebrate the Feast of St. Ignatius with liturgy at 11:30 a.m. in the Mission Church followed by a picnic lunch on The Alameda Mall. This is a special tradition for Santa Clara and Jesuit institutions around the world when we honor the founder of the Society of Jesus and recall his unique spiritual gifts.

    Ignatius left a legacy of spiritual practices that are grounded in our everyday lives and focused on actions that serve the greater glory of God. His was a mission of love, justice and a special concern for the poor, the sick and the hungry. As a community, may we be inspired by Ignatius' practice of seeing God in all things and in all people.

    Please mark you calendars for Thursday, July 31, to celebrate our Ignatian roots.

  •  Wednesday, Jun. 11, 2014

    What's Ahead on My Calendar

    • June 13 - Commencement Liturgy
    • June 13 - Graduate Commencement
    • June 14 - Undergraduate Commencement
    • June 17 - Staff Recognition Awards
    • June 21 - Memorial Service for John Vasconcellos
    • June 26-27 - President's Staff Leadership Retreat
    • July 4 - July 4th Holiday
    • July 7-8 - Orientation
    • July 10-11 - Orientation
    • July 11 - Bay Area President's Meeting
  •  Wednesday, Jun. 11, 2014

    UPC End-of-Year Meeting

    On May 22, we held the end-of-year UPC meeting, at which representatives from the University Policy Committees, Faculty Senate, Staff Senate and other committees reported on their activities of the past year. So that the University community is apprised of the extensive work accomplished by each group, the summary reports are posted as follows:

  •  Wednesday, Jun. 11, 2014

    Class of 2014 Student Awards

    Congratulations to the members of the Class of 2014 selected to receive University awards. It is my pleasure to acknowledge the following students for their contributions to the University community and beyond.

    At Undergraduate Commencement on Saturday, June 14, we shall recognize five exemplary students for their achievements, service to others and contributions to the life of the University. John Bird (environmental science) will receive the Nobili Medal and Alexandra Sibole (bioengineering) will receive the St. Clare Medal; the Peter Hans Kolvenbach, S.J. Award will go to Nicholas Leasure (economics) and Rosa Segura (biology); and the 2014 Valedictorian will be Ivan Krayniy (accounting).

    At the Senior Toast to the Class of 2014 held on May 29, several students received the Richard J. Riordan Award in recognition of their outstanding contributions to service through their work with the marginalized and underserved populations outside of the University community: Edwin Cabrera (communication), Laura Aislinn Diaz (psychology), Laura Ornelas (sociology), Claire Kunkle (mechanical engineering), and Celia Trujillo (religious studies).

    Student Life Awards in recognition of contributions to improving the overall quality of life in the University community went to John Cabri (biology), Jared Hara (bioengineering), Tennyson Jones (theater), Judith Martinez (philosophy), Emily Robinson (biochemistry), and Dominique Troy (communication).

    Denise Castillo Chavez (sociology) received the Student Inclusive Excellence Award for her commitment to enhancing an inclusive environment on campus.

    This year’s recipients of the 2014 Alumni Association Board of Directors’ Service Award are Claude Donnelly (English) and Rosa Segura (biology).

    Please join me in congratulating these outstanding graduates and all the members of the Class of 2014.

Printer-friendly format