Santa Clara University

Office of the President


Father Michael E. Engh, S.J.

Michael E. Engh, S.J. took office as the 28th president of Santa Clara University on January 5, 2009. Since arriving at Santa Clara, Fr. Engh has led the University in defining the University's vision and setting the course for the future with the 2011 Strategic Plan. Among his priorities as president are attracting diverse and academically gifted students; recruiting and retaining talented faculty and staff; and engaging with the diversity, energy, and entrepreneurial spirit that are the hallmarks of Silicon Valley.

Active in higher education governance and in the local community, Fr. Engh serves on a number of boards, including the Board of Trustees of Boston College, Board of Directors of the Silicon Valley Leadership Group, the Board of Directors of the Association of Jesuit Colleges and Universities, Council of Presidents of the Graduate Theological Union and the Board of Trustees of Bellarmine College Preparatory. He also holds an appointment on the Executive Board of the Association of Independent California Colleges and Universities (AICCU), and is a member of the Association of Governing Boards of Universities and Colleges.

Prior to coming to Santa Clara, Father served as Dean of the Bellarmine College of Liberal Arts and professor of history at Loyola Marymount University in Los Angeles. A teacher and historian of the American West, Fr. Engh has published on the history of Los Angeles and the role of religion in the history of the American West. He entered the Jesuits in 1972 and was ordained a priest in 1981. Father holds a B.A. from Loyola University of Los Angeles, now LMU; an M.A. from Gonzaga University; a Master of Divinity from the Jesuit School of Theology at Berkeley; and a Doctorate from the University of Wisconsin-Madison.

Printer-friendly format