Ignatian Center Staff

Executive Director

 
staff-McCarthy 

Michael McCarthy, S.J.

Executive Director

Michael McCarthy, S.J. holds the Edmund Campion, S.J., Professorship and is an associate professor with a joint appointment in Religious Studies and Classics. He is also director of the Catholic Studies Program. Read More.

(408) 554-4715  |  MCMcCarthy@scu.edu

 

Institutes and Spirituality

staff- Theresa 

Theresa Ladrigan-Whelpley

Director of Institutes and Spirituality

Theresa Ladrigan-Whelpley serves as the Director of Institutes and Spirituality in the Ignatian Center for Jesuit Education. Read More.

(408) 554-4383  |  tladriganwhelpley@scu.edu

 
staff-rob 

Rob Scholla, S.J.

Bannan Faculty Fellow

Rob Scholla, S.J. serves as the Bannan Faculty Fellow, overseeing faculty and staff engagement in the the Spiritual Exercises of St. Ignatius. Read more.

(408) 551-7177  |  rwscholla@scu.edu

 

Community-based Learning

staff-jen 

Jennifer Merritt

Director of Community-based Learning

Jennifer Merritt serves as the Director of Community-based Learning, overseeing the Weekly Engagement Program and the Thriving Neighbors Initiative. Read More.

(408) 554-5013  |  jmerritt@scu.edu

 
staff-standard 

Rosa Guerra-Sarabia

Program Director for Community-based Learning

Rosa Guerra-Sarabia serves as one of the Program Directors for Community-based Learning, overseeing the Weekly Engagement Program. Read More.

(408) 554-5011  |  rguerrasarabia@scu.edu

 
staff-standard 

Tam Hixson

Program Director for Community-based Learning

Tam Hixson serves as one of the Program Directors for Community-based Learning, overseeing the Weekly Engagement Program. Read More.

(408) 554-4641  |  thixson@scu.edu

 
staff-Rosa 

Irene Cermeño

Program Director for Thriving Neighbors Initiative

Irene Cermeno serves as the Program Director for the Thriving Neighbors Initiative. Read more.

(408) 554-7178  |  icermeno@scu.edu

 
staff-abby 

Abby Denk

Program Assistant

Abby Denk serves as the Program Assistant for the Thriving Neighbors Initiative. Read more.

(408) 551-7136  |  adenk@scu.edu

 
staff-standard 

Catherine Holcombe

Jesuit Volunteer

Catherine Holcombe serves as a Jesuit Volunteer supporting the Thriving Neighbors Initiative as Lead Tutor for the Academic Enrichment Program.

cholcombe@scu.edu

Immersions

staff-Jake 

Jake Schneider

Director of Immersions

Jake Schneider serves as the Director of the Immersions Program. Read More.

(408) 554-5346  |  jjschneider@scu.edu

 
staff-valerie 

Valerie Sarma

Program Director for Immersions

Valerie Sarma serves as the Program Director for immersions. Read More.

(408) 554-5272  |  vsarma@scu.edu

 
staff-standard 

Sarah Stanley

Graduate Assistant for Immersions

 Sarah Stanley serves as a Graduate Student Assistant for immersions. Read More.

 (408) 554-5342  |  s1stanley@scu.edu

 
staff-Natalie 

Natalie Terry

Graduate Assistant for Immersions

Natalie Terry serves as a Graduate Student Assistant for immersions.

(408) 554-5342  |  nterry@scu.edu

 

External Relations

staff- risa 

Risa Harrison

Director of External Relations

Risa Harrison serves as the Director of External Relations in the Ignatian Center for Jesuit Education where she is responsible for the fundraising efforts, donor engagement, and development activities. Read more.

(408) 551-7176  |  rharrison@scu.edu

 
staff-Jonathan 

Jonathan Salim

President's Fellow

Jonathan Salim serves as a President's Fellow, splitting time between the President's Office and the Ignatian Center where he supports both the Thriving Neighbors Initiative and External Relations. Read more.

(408) 554-3384  |  jsalim@scu.edu

 

Operations

staff-Mike 

Michael Nuttall

Director of Communications and Operations

Mike Nuttall serves as the Director of Communications and Operations, overseeing the Center's marketing and operational support. Read More.

(408) 554-2747  |  mnuttall@scu.edu

 
staff-susan 

Susan Chun

Logistics and Operations Specialist

Susan Chun serves as the Logistics and Operations Specialist, a member of the Operations Team who oversees the Center's database management and supports the Center as a whole. Read more.

(408) 554-4549  |  sechun@scu.edu

 
staff-standard 

Nancy Diaz

Finance and Operations Analyst

 Nancy Diaz serves as the Finance and Operations Analyst, a member of the Operations Team who oversees the Center's financial management and supports the Center as a whole.

(408) 551-1951  |  ndiaz@scu.edu

 
staff-Nicole 

Nicole Kelly

Operations Administrative Assistant

Nicole Kelly serves as the Operations Administrative Assistant, a member of the Operations Team who supports the Center as a whole. Read More.

(408) 554-5358  |  nkelly@scu.edu

 
staff-SA 

Student Assistants


Ignatian Center Student Assistants support the operations of the center in a variety of ways. Read More.