Santa Clara University


Faculty and Staff News

Mark Ardema, Professor of Mechanical Engineering, has been elected Fellow of the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA). The AIAA, with 35,000 members in 79 countries, elected only 30 people worldwide this year, including those from organizations such as MIT, the University of Texas, Virginia Tech, the Technion (Haifa, Israel), Jet Propulsion Laboratory, the Japan Aerospace Exploration Agency, NASA, and Boeing. Mark will be formally recognized at a ceremony in Washington D. C. Mark has contributed over 150 research publications in the fields of optimal control, flight path optimization, differential games, structural analysis, and aircraft conceptual design.

Sally Wood, Professor of Electrical Engineering, has been elected a Fellow of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers “for contributions to engineering education at university and pre-college levels.” This honor is awarded by the Board of Directors to individuals with an extraordinary record of accomplishments in any of the IEEE fields of interest. In any year, no more than 1/10 of one percent of the voting membership may be elected Fellow. Being elected Fellow of the IEEE is in itself an extraordinary accomplishment.

Cary Y. Yang, Professor of Electrical Engineering, Associate Dean of Engineering, and the Director of the Center for Nanostructures, received the 2005 Distinguished Service Award from the IEEE Electron Devices Society (EDS). This award was established in 1993 and is presented annually to recognize and honor outstanding service to the Electron Devices Society and its sponsored activites. He received his award on December 5, 2005 at the International Electron Devices Meeting in Washington D.C.