Santa Clara University

clear

Academic Calendar

Graduate courses are offered throughout the year, including the summer quarter. All students are responsible for being aware of the various dates each quarter which may affect them academically and financially.

Fall Quarter 2015
August 10-14 Monday-Friday Initial Fall registration period (appt. required in Ecampus for registration)
Aug. 15-Sept. 13 Saturday-Sunday Open registration and Add/Drop period - no charge if registered
September 7  
Monday Labor Day; administrative holiday. Consult instructor
September 14 Monday Drop/Swap period begins; $50 fee per course
Late registration period begins; $100 fee if no previous enrollment
Sept. 21 Monday Tuition and fee payment due
September 21
Monday Classes begin
September 23 Wednesday New Student Orientation
September 25 Friday Last day to add/swap or withdraw from classes with a 100% refund (Clear any registration holds by 5pm, Friday) 
Last day to petition for graduate degrees to be conferred in December 2015
October 2
Friday Last day to withdraw from classes with a 50% refund
October 9 Friday Last day to submit incomplete work to faculty for spring and summer 2015
October 9 Friday Last day to withdraw from classes with a 25% refund
October 16 Friday Last day to withdraw from classes and not receive a "W" grade (no tuition refund)
October 19-23 Monday-Friday Initial Winter registration period (appt. required in eCampus for registration)
November 6 Friday Last day to withdraw from classes with a "W" grade
November 23-27 Monday-Friday Thanksgiving recess; academic holiday (Please check with instructor to verify that classes will not meet.)
December 4 Friday Classes end
December 7-11 Monday-Friday Fall quarter final examinations
December 16 Wednesday Fall quarter grades due
December 21 Monday Winter tuition and fee payment deadline
December 24-25 Thursday-Friday Christmas recess; administrative holiday
December 31-January 1 Thursday-Friday New Year's recess; administrative holiday

Winter Quarter 2016

October 19-23 Monday-Friday Initial Winter registration period (appt. required in Ecampus for registration)
Oct. 24-December 27 Saturday-Sunday Open registration and Add/Drop period- no charge if previous enrollment
December 21 Monday Tuition and fee payment due
December 28 Monday Drop/Swap period begins; $50 fee per course; late registration begins; $100 late fee if no previous enrollment.
January 4 Monday Classes begin  
January 6 Wednesday New Student Orientation
January 8 Friday Last day to add/swap or withdraw from classes with a 100% refund (Clear any registration holds by 5pm, Friday)
January 15 Friday Last day to withdraw from classes with a 50% refund
Last day to petition for graduate degrees to be conferred in March 2016
January 18 Monday Martin Luther King Day holiday; administrative holiday - consult instructor.
January 22 Friday Last day to submit incomplete fall quarter 2015 work to faculty.
January 22 Friday Last day to withdraw from classes with a 25% refund
January 25-29
Monday-Friday Initial Spring registration period (appt. required in eCampus for registration)
January 29 Friday Last day to withdraw from classes and not receive a "W" grade (no tuition refund)
February 15 Monday President's Day; administrative holiday. Consult instructor.
February 19 Friday Last day to withdraw from classes with a "W" grade
March 11 Friday Last day to petition for graduate degrees to be conferred in June 2016
March 11 Friday Classes end
March 14-18 Monday-Friday Winter quarter final examinations
March 21 Monday Spring tuition and fee payment deadline
March 23 Wednesday Winter quarter grades due

Spring Quarter 2016

January 25-29 Monday-Friday Initial Spring registration period (appt. required for registration in Ecampus system)
Jan. 30-March 20 Saturday-Sunday Open registration and Add/Drop period-no charge if registered
March 21 Monday Tuition and fee payment due
March 21 Monday Drop/Swap period begins; $50 fee per course
March 21 Monday Late registration begins; $100 late fee if no previous enrollment.
March 28 Monday Classes begin
March 30 Wednesday New Student Orientation
April 1 Friday Last day to add/swap or withdraw from classes with a 100% refund (Clear any registration holds by 5pm Friday)
April 8 Friday Last day to withdraw from classes with a 50% refund
April 11-15 Monday-Friday Initial Summer registration period for current students for all 3 sessions
April 15 Friday Last day to submit incomplete work to faculty for Winter 2016
April 15 Friday Last day to withdraw from classes with a 25% refund
April 22 Friday Last day to withdraw from classes and not receive a "W" grade (no tuition refund)
May 13

May 21

Friday

Saturday

Last day to withdraw from classes with a "W" grade

Summer tuition and fees due for registration done prior to May 1st. Registration done after May 1st will require prepayment of tuition and fees prior to registering.

May 30

Monday Memorial Day; academic and administrative holiday.
June 3 Friday Classes end
June 6-10 Monday-Friday Spring quarter final examinations
June 10 Friday Graduate Commencement
June 15 Wednesday  Spring quarter grades due


Summer Quarter 2015

April 13-17 Monday-Friday Initial Summer registration period for current students for all three sessions
April 18-June 14
Saturday-Sunday Add/Drop period - no charge if registered
May 21
Thursday Tuition and fee payment deadline
June 15 Monday Drop/Swap period begins; $50 fee per course; late registration begins; $100 late fee if no previous enrollment.
June 22 Monday Classes begin for Sessions I and II**
June 28 Sunday Last day to add classes for ALL three sessions
July 3 Friday Independence Day observed; academic and administrative holiday
July 24 Friday Last day to withdraw from classes for Session II only
Classes end for Session II only
July 27-28 Monday-Tuesday Summer Session II final examinations
August 3 Monday Classes begin for Session III**
August 28 Friday Last day to withdraw from classes for Session I
Classes end for Session I
August 31-September 4 Monday-Friday Summer Session I final exams
September 4 Friday Last day to withdraw from classes for Session III
Classes end for Session III
September 7 Monday Labor Day observed; administrative holiday; grad classes will meet
September 7-9 Monday-Wednesday Summer Session III final exams
September 11 Friday Last day to petition for graduate degrees to be conferred in December 2015
October 9 Friday Last day to submit incomplete work to faculty for spring and summer 2015

**Summer sessions tuition refund policy:

For 100% tuition refund: Students must drop their course(s) online via ecampus by the end of the day (no later than 11:59 p.m.) of the second class meeting.

For 50% tuition refund: Students must drop their course(s) online via ecampus by the end of the day (no later than 11:59 p.m.) of the third class meeting.

There will be no further refunds after the day of the third class meeting.