Santa Clara University

Sociology department

Faculty

Marilyn Fernandez (1992), Professor 
Ph.D. 1982, Sociology, Loyola University of Chicago 
Asian American Families and Communities; Domestic Violence, Programs and Evaluation; Assessment of Multicultural Education; Sociology of Development
O'Connor 331
408/554-4432
email: mfernandez@scu.edu

Alma M. Garcia (1982), Professor
Ph.D. 1982, Sociology, Harvard University
Mexican American Communities; Political Economy of Latin American Development; Oral History Research
O'Connor 306
408/554-4511
email: agarcia@scu.edu

John (Jack) Gilbert (2007), Professor, Interim Dept. Chair
Ph.D. 1965, Chemistry, Yale University
Physical Organic Chemistry, Synthetic Methodology
O'Connor Hall 307
408/554-4780
email:  jgilbert@scu.edu

Patrick Lopez-Aguado (2013), Assistant Professor
Ph.D. 2013, Sociology, UC Santa Barbara
Race and Incarceration, Juvenile Justice, Youth and Street Cultures, Urban Ethnography
O'Connor Hall 305
408/554-5178
email:  plopezaguado@scu.edu

Laura Nichols (2000), Associate Professor
Ph.D. 2000, Sociology, University of Akron
Applied Sociology; Inequalities; Experiences of First Generation College Students
O'Connor 304
408/551-7131
email: lnichols@scu.edu

Charles Powers (1986), Professor
Ph.D. 1981, Sociology, University of California-Riverside
Theory; Organizations; Applied Sociology
O'Connor 305
408/554-4517
email: cpowers@scu.edu

Laura Robinson (2008), Assistant Professor
Ph.D. 2006, Sociology, UCLA
New Media; Digital Inequality; Culture, Sociology of Communication and Media; Cross-National Sociology; U.S. and Western Europe; Brazil and Latin America
O'Connor 312
408/554-4509
email: lrobinson@scu.edu

Regina Davis-Sowers (2008), Lecturer
Ph.D. 2006, Sociology, Georgia State University
Principles of Sociology; Social Problems; Sociology of Family; Human Services; Quantitative Methods and Applied Statistics
O'Connor 302
408/554-4510
email:  rdavissowers@scu.edu

 

 


 

 
 
Printer-friendly format