Santa Clara University

Leavey School of Business News Blog


Business Today

  •  Vietnam Delegation Visits SCU

    Friday, Jun. 19, 2015 4:30 PM

    Professor of Practice Juan Montermoso hosted a delegation from Vietnam to help them understand more about Silicon Valley. He provided a review of the visit, which is printed below. 

    Vietnam Ministry Delegation Visits LSB/SCU to Learn about Silicon Valley
    By Dr.  Juan P. Montermoso

    On June 18, 2015, a delegation from the Vietnam Ministry of Science and Technology met with some of SCU’s Leavey School of Business faculty and practitioners to learn more about what makes Silicon Valley tick. Professor of Practice Juan P. Montermoso hosted the group, headed by Mr. Tran Van Tung, Deputy Minister of Science and Technology, who were eager to understand more about innovation and entrepreneurship. 

    Professor Montermoso arranged a series of presentations to provide unique perspectives on the Silicon Valley experience. As he reviewed past and current trends in business and technology, he highlighted the importance of talent development. In particular, Professor Montermoso noted the specific contributions SCU and the Leavey School have made not only through educational programs but also through organizations like the Center for Innovation and Entrepreneurship, the Retail Management Institute,and the Miller Center for Social Entrepreneurship, all of which deepen the engagement and collaboration  of entrepreneurs, businesses, and SCU.  SCU MBA candidate Ron Kwok provided the unique perspective of current Silicon Valley entrepreneur meeting the challenges of growing markets and evolving products with his own family business. An invited speaker, Mr. Dimitrios Dovas,, CEO of a technology startup as well as a Board Director of other Silicon Valley technology ventures, provided a perspective on Silicon Valley strengths and difficulties from his European and non –US  experience. 

    The delegation, which also included Ms. Thach Le Anh, CEO of Vietnam Silicon Valley, as well as Vietnam Consul Nguyen Thi Ngoc Dung based in San Francisco, were particularly interested in how to encourage entrepreneurial activity back in Vietnam. They hope to combine the concepts they learned at SCU with the specific ideas they were picking up during the week from visits with Incubators, like Plug and Play, with Angel Investors, and  with technology firms like Microsoft. Said Professor Montermoso, “I believe the delegation left with a much deeper and broader understanding of the elements that make Silicon Valley successful and a stronger appreciation of how a university institution like SCU can help foster a dynamic ecosystem for economic growth in their own home country.”

  •  Beta Gamma Sigma Honor Society Inducts New Members

    Thursday, Jun. 18, 2015 2:24 PM

    Each year, the Leavey School of Business inducts new students into Santa Clara University’s chapter of the international honor society Beta Gamma Sigma. Only the top 20% of graduate business students, and the top 10% of undergraduate business students are invited to join. A ceremony to celebrate new inductees was held on campus this spring; all Beta Gamma Sigma members, both current students and alumni, were invited. 

    This year’s inductees “embody the commitment to excellence and the intellectual values that are the soul of every University,” said Dean Drew Starbird at the ceremony. “These scholars are our very best students. We are proud and honored to have them as a part of our community.”

    Alumna Rebecca Jacoby MBA ’95, chief information officer and senior vice president of Cisco Systems, delivered the keynote as the 2015 Beta Gamma Simga chapter honoree. This award is conferred upon those who have advanced the ideals of the Society through outstanding business and managerial leadership.  

    One hundred and fifty five current students are part of Beta Gamma Sigma’s ranks. Congratulations to all who were initiated into this international honor society! 

    Below is a list of students who are part of Beta Gamma Sigma this year. Find photos of the Ceremony here»

    Undergraduate Juniors Undergraduate Seniors Graduate Students
    Christopher Allen Krishan Allen Issac Aphonso
    Jeffrey Becker Geoffrey Arens Monica Argenti
    Marissa Cagle Drew Joseph Armanino Harshinder Bagga
    Joseph Caputo Natalie Ceciliani Piyasa Banerjee
    Nicholas Casaccia Raymond Cheng Brittara Blaine
    Jonathan Colarelli Aaron J Chu Deepti Bogadi
    Brendan Cooke Joseph Coleman Devesh Chandawala
    Connor Creswell Kevin Coyle Jeanette Chickles
    Ashley Derakhshandeh Matthew Cresci Matthew Danna
    Matthew Groetelaars Nathan Croutch Kathryn Davis
    Brendan Haggerty Roshan Doshi Shilpa Deshmukh
    Connor Hauck Carmella Dunn-Hartman Randall Dyer
    Ronald Hernandez Bridget Durant Michael Estopinal
    Alana Hinkston Austin Freitas Keith Everett
    Kyle Huang Thomas Harrison Sydney Foresythe
    Tiffany Iskandar Megan Harrison Abhishek Ghoshal
    Nicole Jokom Anthony Hascheff Gaela Guerra
    Jaclyn Kavanaugh Jessica Huang Shweta Gumastedesai
    Jia Lee >Ashlyn Kalei Iwatani RajeshKumar Ilango
    Clay Leedy Kevin Krautscheid Pooja Jaiswal
    Grace Lewis Zachary Laval Leanne Javier
    Connor Liston >Elliot Le Lige Jiang
    Tiffany Lu Matthew Leff Deukyoon Kang
    William Mittenthal Olivia Li Adrienne Karalius
    Ryan Moyes Alex Nauman Mona Khandan
    Richard Mule David Nola William Kim
    Elaina Obradovich Ralph Ong Kailash Kothari
    Alexander Palomares >Nicole Orban Paul Kramer
    Connor Powell Logan Peterson Kit Chu Lam
    Delphine Rouvillois Monica Pires Ai Ping Lee
    Jaron Sakamoto Mimi Price Massimo Malizia
    Emily Sidford Navroop Rai Subhasree Mandavilli
    Holden Tikkanen Alexandra Saddik Jaclyn Moody
    Brooke Vasconcellos Manisha Sahai James Morrison
    Stefanie Whitmer Caleb Scherer Darshana Naik
    Ernest Yip Tuyet-Anh Ta Harrison Ng
    Kaitlin Zablotsky Katherine Usavage Sneha Nihalani
      Tyler Van Herweg Shashank Nimje
      Ryan Vas Dias Anjali Pai
      Isabelle von Rosen Manali Parmar
      Nathalie Vu-Goldstein Mudra Patel
      Kristin Wendel Smitha Puranik
      Sophie Won Swetha Raghunathan
      Franchesca Yamamoto Anand Raj
       Philip Zieser Anand Ramchandani
        Stuti Rastogi
        John Richards
        Kshama Sabnis
        Ry Sanderson
        Eli Schulman
        Mrinalini Shekhawat
        Harnit Singh
        Kimberly Smith
        Midhun Somasundaran
        Hongsheng (Harrison) Song
        Christina Stuart
        Ryan Suzuki
        Marni Swedroe
        Paul Torrez
        Wayne Tow
        Xuan Tran
        Neeti Tulsyan
        Amrita Tyagi
        Breeanna von Faith
        Brian Vu
        Michael Werner
        Jennifer Wirowek
        Shuyuan Yang
        Stephen Yodz
        Sarah Yousef
        Raymond Yu
        Alvaro Zanon Alonso
        Brian Zias

    Founded in 1907, Beta Gamma Sigma is the international honor society for collegiate schools of business. Its purpose is to encourage and reward scholarship and academic achievement in the field of commerce. 

Printer-friendly format